news

Opel Unveils 281 HP Mokka GSE and Grandland AWD

Author By AkulRide Staff • Oct 18, 2026
3 min read 1,024 Reads
Opel Unveils 281 HP Mokka GSE and Grandland AWD
Photo / Source: Stellantis

Opel has revealed a major expansion to its electrified lineup at the Paris Motor Show, showcasing three distinct electric SUVs tailored for performance, family practicality, and all-weather traction.

The display is led by the road-going Mokka GSE, alongside the all-wheel-drive Grandland Electric AWD and the value-oriented Frontera Electric Extended Range.

Advertisement

Opel Mokka GSE: Rally Heritage in a Production EV

Positioned as the quickest series-production electric Opel to date, the Mokka GSE generates a peak output of 207 kW (281 hp) and 345 Nm of immediate torque. Derived from the Mokka GSE Rally competition car, it accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h in a manufacturer-claimed 5.9 seconds and reaches a top speed of 200 km/h.

Underneath, the Mokka GSE features a mechanical Torsen limited-slip differential, lowered suspension, specialized anti-roll bars, and shock absorbers equipped with hydraulic bump stops. Inside, the cabin is fitted with Alcantara GSE performance seats and bespoke telemetry displays for G-force and acceleration metrics.

Opel Grandland Electric AWD: Dual-Motor Traction and 502 km Range

The Grandland Electric AWD marks Opel's first battery-electric model with all-wheel drive. Delivering a total system output of 239 kW (325 hp) and up to 509 Nm of torque, the German-built SUV reaches 100 km/h in 6.1 seconds.

A 73 kWh usable capacity lithium-ion NMC battery pack provides a claimed WLTP driving range of up to 502 kilometres between stops. Charging from 20% to 80% takes around 30 minutes at a suitable public DC fast charger, while adaptive Frequency Selective Damping (FSD) controls body motion across four drive modes: Normal, Eco, Sport, and 4WD.

Advertisement

Frontera Electric: Practical Packaging for Up to Seven

Focusing on affordability and family usability, the Frontera Electric arrives with an 83 kW (113 hp) motor and two battery choices. The standard 44 kWh pack (43 kWh usable) provides up to 307 km of WLTP range, while the Extended Range variant uses a 54 kWh pack (52 kWh usable) to deliver up to 400 km.

Available in a five-seat or seven-seat configuration, the Frontera offers up to 1,600 litres of luggage volume with the second row folded, ergonomic Intelli-Seats, and up to five USB-C ports.

Technical Specifications Comparison

ModelPowertrain / OutputBattery Capacity (Usable)WLTP Range0-100 km/h
Mokka GSESingle Motor / 207 kW (281 hp), 345 NmNot statedNot stated (18.5 kWh/100 km)5.9 seconds
Grandland Electric AWDDual Motor AWD / 239 kW (325 hp), 509 Nm73 kWh NMCUp to 502 km6.1 seconds
Frontera ElectricSingle Motor / 83 kW (113 hp)43 kWhUp to 307 kmNot stated
Frontera Electric Extended RangeSingle Motor / 83 kW (113 hp)52 kWhUp to 400 kmNot stated

Official pricing for the new models was not stated in the announcement.

AkulRide Verdict

Opel's latest SUV trio demonstrates clever brand differentiation across Stellantis hardware. By pairing genuine motorsport tuning in the Mokka GSE with long-legged dual-motor capability in the Grandland AWD and budget practicality in the Frontera, Opel effectively covers three distinct segments of the European electric vehicle market.

Advertisement
Author

AkulRide Staff

Automotive Journalist
Specialty: Passenger Cars, Luxury Segments, & Industry Strategy
Hemant is a veteran automotive journalist with experience covering the global and Indian car markets. At AkulRide, he specializes in deep-dive reviews of everything from budget-friendly hatchbacks to high-end luxury SUVs. His expertise lies in translating complex mechanical specifications into practical driving experiences. Hemant's "State of the Industry" columns are a must-read for anyone looking to understand market trends, mergers, and the future of internal combustion engines.
  • Core Focus: Sedans, SUVs, Luxury Cars, and Automotive Policy.
  • Key Strength: Comparative analysis and long-term vehicle reliability testing.
Was this article helpful?

Your feedback helps improve our automotive coverage

5.0 (1 ratings)

User Discussion

Want to join the conversation? Sign in with Google